Sunday, April 4, 2021

An Article V Convention is an untried and dangerous proposal. It needs to be stopped.

Reposted from Tennessee Eagle Forum, April 3, 2021 - Well, this is very clever. Normally, unlike a BILL that travels through the legislative process with a companion in each chamber, a JOINT RESOLUTION is normally a single effort traveling in one direction (an HJR starting in the House, then going to the Senate; an SJR starting in the Senate going to the House.) 


Regardless of the origin or direction of movement, Eagle Forum strongly opposes an Article V Convention as well as opposing ARTIFICIAL term limits. Today’s problems in Washington do not stem from defects in the Constitution, but rather Washington’s departure from the Constitution’s original meaning and interpretation. 

Just as an informed electorate would be necessary for upholding any new amendments, so too is an informed electorate necessary for the preservation of the current U.S. Constitution. Therefore, the solution is not a lack of new amendments, but a lack of education about and fidelity to the current Constitution. 

Many national supporters have been misleading the public and state legislators for years, telling them that the state legislatures will control the convention process; that Congress has only a ministerial role to call the time and date of the convention; that the state legislatures will control their delegates to the convention; that the delegates must stick to the subject of the application, and on it goes. 

In addition, under the present administration, opening up a Constitutional Convention is a risky situation on its face. But can we for a minute think about the CIRCUS this would become? The deliberations would NOT take place in a small room with the windows nailed closed as the original convention took place. This event would have the crush of media, the social media, the Soros-types generously funding the issues and delegates that they preferred. 

Remember NONE of this has been tried. PLEASE DON'T TAKE THIS LIGHTLY AND PLEASE MAKE YOUR VOICE HEARD. 

Looking around at the world in which we are living today, this sounds like a great idea. But.....an Article V convention is completely uncharted territory and there really are important things to know about:

ARTICLE V CONVENTION FOR TERM LIMITS: 
SJR 0199 by *Rose 
Constitutional Conventions - Makes application to Congress for the purpose of calling an Article V convention to propose an amendment to the United States Constitution to set a limit on the number of terms to which a person may be elected as a member of the Congress of the United States. 
STATUS: SJR199 is in Senate Finance, Ways, and Means Committee Tuesday morning. 
ACTION: Please review the links below and contact members of this committee and urge them to OPPOSE SJR199: Sen. Bo Watson sen.bo.watson@capitol.tn.gov, Sen. John Stevens sen.john.stevens@capitol.tn.gov, Sen. Joey Hensley sen.joey.hensley@capitol.tn.gov, Sen. Todd Gardenhire sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov, Sen. Ferrell Haile sen.ferrell.haile@capitol.tn.gov, Sen. Jack Johnson sen.jack.johnson@capitol.tn.gov, Sen. Jon Lundberg sen.jon.lundberg@capitol.tn.gov, Sen. Ken Yager sen.ken.yager@capitol.tn.gov, Sen. Jeff Yarbro sen.jeff.yarbro@capitol.tn.gov, Sen. Dawn White sen.dawn.white@capitol.tn.gov

ARTICLE V CONVENTION FOR TERM LIMITS: 
HJR 0008 by *Todd , Eldridge, Mannis, Garrett, Zachary, Doggett, Calfee, Williams, Ogles, Bricken, Hurt.  
Constitutional Conventions - Makes application to Congress for the purpose of calling an Article V convention to propose an amendment to the United States Constitution to set a limit on the number of terms to which a person may be elected as a member of the Congress of the United States. 
STATUS: On the House floor Thursday, April 8.

Stumble Upon Toolbar
My Zimbio
Top Stories

No comments:

Post a Comment